Utah Aviation Hall of Fame

About the Utah Aviation Hall of Fame

The Utah Aviation Hall of Fame is located near the front entrance of the Hill Aerospace Museum. The Utah Aviation Hall of Fame was established to recognize individuals in the State of Utah who have distinguished themselves through heroic accomplishments as civil or military aviators or by fostering exceptionally noteworthy advances in the State of Utah’s aviation programs.

The overarching goal of this program is to cultivate public appreciation for the contributions of such worthy individuals to the cause of air power and to encourage the continued development of aviation throughout the State.

The Utah Aviation Hall of Fame was renovated in 2016 with funding from the 2015 session of the Utah State Legislature and with a generous gift from The ALSAM Foundation from Salt Lake City.

In 1996, Governor Mike Leavitt provided official recognition of the Utah Aviation Hall of Fame and proclaimed 32nd Flight (Pioneer), Order of Daedalians, the National Fraternity of Military Pilots, as the sponsor and custodial agency for the program.

Thirteen initial Hall of Fame inductees were enshrined in 1996 when the Hall of Fame found a home within the Hill Aerospace Museum. Each year around Memorial Day, a new member is inducted and a ceremony held at the Museum. To date, 30 individuals have been honored by induction into the Utah Aviation Hall of Fame.

To nominate someone for the Hall of Fame, submit the below Nomination Form and ancillary information to: O.C. Hope at Call 801-721-6071 with questions.

Hill Aeropace Museum Hall of Fame Utah Seal
Utah Aviation Hall of Fame Logo

Utah Aviation Hall of Fame Inductees

The inductee videos are produced by the Aerospace Heritage Foundation of Utah to recognize the accomplishments, heroic activities, and contributions of members of the Utah Aviation Hall of Fame. Their impact on aviation in the State of Utah, the United States Air Force, and Hill Air Force Base are monumental and have left their mark in history.

  • The videos are written and directed and produced by Mr. Eric Temple of Highway 89 Media in Ogden, Utah.
  • Funding for the video project was generously provided by “The ALSAM Foundation” of Salt Lake City, Utah.
Inductees Videos
Major General Orvil A. Anderson
Lieutenant Colonel Paul Bloomquist
General John Kenneth Cannon
Vern and Jessie Carter
Brigadier General Darrell Stuart Cramer
Major General William E. Creer
Colonel Emmett S. “Cyclone” Davis
Colonel Glenn Todd Eagleston
Captain  Richard Taylor Eastmond
Colonel Bernard F. Fisher
Jacob Edwin Garn
Senator Edwin J. "Jake" Garn
Lieutenant Commander William E. Hall
Colonel Gail S. Halvorsen
Robert H. Hinckley
Ensign Hans Lundby Jensen, Jr.
Colonel Lorin L. Johnson
Lieutenant Colonel Clifford D. Jolley
Commander Don L. Lind
Major John A. Lindquist
Colonel Willard R. Macfarlane
Colonel Russell L. Maughan
Ardeth “Art” Mortensen
Alberta H. Nicholson
Lieutenant Colonel Chase J. Nielsen
Major General Chesley G. Peterson
Major Alden P. Rigby
Major Floyd H. Ririe
Lieutenant General Marc C. Reynolds
Brigadier General Richard C. Sanders
Brigadier General Robert V. Spencer
Colonel Walter T. Stewart
Captain Harold A. Sweet
Brigadier General Paul W. Tibbets
Lieutenant Wendell Van Twelves

Download a Utah Aviation Hall of Fame Nomination Form Nominate Now

Hall of Fame Photos